Tags

On my flight back from Hong Kong, I sat next to this young lady.  I found out that she swims for both Team Hong Kong and UC Berkeley Bears, my wife’s alma mater.  She happens to be a neuro science major as well.  Somehow she’s able to juggle her athletic endeavors and her studies without losing momentum with each.  In fact, I found out that she would be swimming for the Hong Kong Team in the Asia Games in September.   Naturally, our conversation drifted towards why I was traveling to Asia.  She shared with me that she’s Buddhist and how her faith impacted her life.  She further asked about my faith.  She told me that she had had exposure to Christianity because she went to the Diocesan Girl School (a famous Anglican prep school in Hong Kong).  She even owns a Bible!  At the very beginning of her inquiry, she asked, “How do Christians feel about LGBT?  What do you think about premarital sex?”  I found that quite odd.  Instead of asking about the Jesus I believe in, she asked about my views on sex.  I stated all her qualifications to say that even a highly intelligent person is asking such a distorted question about our faith.

On May 18, Hong Kong Christians had a demonstration FOR the family. It’s also known as the 518 event.  Instead of being FOR family, most people perceive the move to be anti-gay because many of the anti-homosexual parties had spearheaded the campaign.  They insisted that the event was not against homosexuals, but the damage was already done.  ALL people could think of when we talk about the faith is the gay issue.  So, when people ask me why I’m vehemently against such activities, my conversation with this young lady pretty much sums it up.  As I said often in my preaching class, the problem is not about intent or information but impact.  I don’t want people to identify my faith with what people do in their bedrooms.  If you think differently, so be it, but I’m sufficiently embarrassed for every conversation where I try to share my faith with people and we end up talking about sex.  After having such conversations repeatedly, I’m convinced that the witness of the church is totally lost in the white noise about sexuality.  You see? This young lady is not stupid, but she’s been drowned out by our white noise.  There’s no excuse for such white noise because when this white noise drowns out the gospel, we can no longer share the gospel.

